The people of India speak 14 major languages and more than 1,000 minor languages and dialects.   
Hindi is the official language of India. It is the native language of about a third of the people, but many speak Hindi as a second language. . . . In 1965, English was dropped as an official language and became an "associate" language. However, it is still commonly used in government.